Webinar

Genomic tools for Psilocybe cubensis propagation

May 18, 2022 I 9AM PDT I 12PM EDT I 5PM BST

Psilocybe cubensis is a fungus that synthesizes therapeutic quantities of psilocybin, psilocin, and other active tryptamines. Understanding the genetic variation in this synthesis pathway can shed light on variants responsible for specific chemotypes. To better understand this diversity, we first built a reference grade genome of Psilocybe cubensis. Using Pacific Biosciences HiFi sequencing and Phase Genomics Proximity ligation assay (HiC), we constructed a chromosome scale, annotated reference genome for Psilocybe cubensis. Using this reference genome, we have sequenced and mapped an additional 81 Psilocybe genomes to catalogue the genetic diversity and microbial contaminants frequently found in this genus. Multiplex quantitative polymerase chain reaction (qPCR) assays have been designed for simultaneous quantification of E. coli and Salmonella species contamination concurrent with Psilocybe cubensis species identification. These tools can assist in directed breeding of the species, contaminant identification and P. cubensis species verification.

During this webinar we will explore:

  • Genetic variation in the Psilocybe cubensis synthesis pathway
  • The design of qPCR assays for simultaneous quantification of E. coli and Salmonella species contamination concurrent with Psilocybe cubensis species identification

Speaker Information:

Kevin McKernan
Kevin McKernan
CSO,
Medicinal Genomics

During this webinar we will explore:

  • Genetic variation in the Psilocybe cubensis synthesis pathway
  • The design of qPCR assays for simultaneous quantification of E. coli and Salmonella species contamination concurrent with Psilocybe cubensis species identification

Register for FREE Now!